After changing their minds on filling the vacancy created when Mike Wallis resigned from the board last year, two seats will be up for election in April for the Town Of Osceola.

Incumbent Jon Cronick, appointed to the board in 2021m], will seek election. Neil Gustafson has decided not to seek reeelection. Debbie Thompson filed papers for Gustafson’s position.

The deadline for filing nomination papers for the Spring Election applications was Jan. 4, 2022. Based on applications received by the Town of Osceola, on Tuesday, April 5, 2022, the following offices are to be elected to succeed the present incumbents listed. The terms are to begin Tuesday, April 19, 2022. 

The two incumbent supervisor positions shall be elected for 2-year terms include:

1.) Town Board Supervisor Jon Cronick (current incumbent)

2.) Town Board Supervisor Neil Gustafson (current incumbent)

Two applications were received for the two, two-year positions. One application was received from the current incumbent Jon Cronick and the other from Debbie Thompson. Neil Gustafson filed his non-candidacy papers.

At the January meeting held Monday, Jan. 3, 2022, there was a motion made (and passed) to rescind the motion made at the Nov. 1, 2021 Town Board meeting which was to wait until the April 2022 election and have the vacant town board supervisor position on the ballot.

Following a brief discussion, there was a second motion made (and passed) to conduct the April 5, 2022, election as normal, with the two, two-year Board Supervisor positions on the ballot and the board. 

Following the April 2022 election, the Board will separately appoint an individual to the town board supervisor position vacated by Mike Wallis. The term of this Town Board Supervisor position will end in April 2023.

Chief Election Inspector Update

Following the December meeting, the SUN reported that the Town of Osceola Board of Supervisors had appointed Jo Everson, Cynthis Thorman and Teresa Utke as Chief Election Inspectors. 

Since that report, Town Clerk, Denise Skjerven, has confirmed that, “Both Jo Everson and Teresa Utke have removed themselves from being appointed to the position of Chief Election Inspector.” 

According to an updated resolution from the Town, on Dec. 12, 2021 Melissa Ward informed Clerk Skjveren, “that she was unable to help with elections.”

The updated resolution also states that on Dec. 9, that Town Supervisor Jo Everson, “requested the Town Board to remove her name as one of the Town’s Chief Election inspectors.” 

Teresa Utke also informed the clerk she is unable to work the upcoming elections.

The resolution states that Jim Brundage, Trishia Carlson and Terilyn Wallis are interested in the Chief Election Inspector and Chief Election Inspector-in-training.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.