Baldwin worked to secure federal funds for Wisconsin in the bipartisan CARES Act

U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin today announced an additional $23,473,973 in federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funding for the State of Wisconsin’s coordinated response to COVID-19 and the economic and housing impacts caused by it. This funding was included in the bipartisan Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act that was signed into law in March.

The CARES Act included $5 billion total in CDBG funding. Today’s announcement is the third round of funding to support states, cities and counties based on the prevalence and risk of COVID-19 and related economic and housing disruption. In March, Senator Baldwin announced the first round of this CARES Act funding for Wisconsin and local governments. And in May, she announced the second round of funding for the State of Wisconsin to support a coordinated coronavirus response across entitlement and non-entitlement communities.

“Local officials and the communities they serve need resources to respond to the public health, economic, and housing challenges we are still facing. This federal support will continue to help local communities quickly respond to this pandemic,” said Senator Baldwin. “I’ve seen firsthand how Community Development Block Grants help people throughout our state. Now more than ever, this funding is needed for our State partners to support our workers, families and neighborhoods. We’re all in this together, so we need to continue working together to get through this public health crisis and move our state forward.”

The following cities and counties in Wisconsin will receive this final round of CDBG funding from the CARES Act:

City of Appleton: $343,268

City of Beloit: $165,070

City of Eau Claire: $331,145

City of Fond Du Lac: $194,332

City of Green Bay: $566,729

City of Janesville: $265,573

City of Kenosha: $453,243

City of La Crosse: $283,394

City of Madison: $1,442,062

City of Milwaukee: $3,364,766

City of Neenah: $102,302

City of Oshkosh: $292,664

City of Racine: $342,617

City of Sheboygan: $230,211

City of Superior: $139,991

City of Wausau: $193,945

City of Wauwatosa: $201,677

City of West Allis: $303,902

Dane County: $1,036,495

Milwaukee County: $966,350

Waukesha County: $1,335,096

The State of Wisconsin will also receive $10,919,141 in CDBG funding to support local communities on the frontlines of this pandemic.

For more than 40 years, the CDBG program has invested billions of federal dollars in communities across the country and helped millions of Americans. The CDBG program fosters job development and provides assistance to neighborhood-based organizations, including community development corporations, in support of economic development, housing assistance, or neighborhood revitalization activities in Wisconsin that are vital to getting through this public health emergency. CDBG funding can be used for the expansion of community health facilities, child care centers, food banks and senior services.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.